Picture of matthias

matthias Matthias Heß

About me

I live together with Irina and our newborn son in a small but cosy flat in the north of Hamburg. Unfortunately we don't have much time to show you around the city and for going out at night, but we enjoy to have common dinners with our guests.

Spoken languages

  • German Mother Tongue
  • English Fluent
  • French Intermediate
  • Russian Beginner

My interests


travelling, music, hiking in the mountains, BeWelcome, getting not fooled by the "ey, what's that?" game....


russian language courses.


everything from classical to hardcore.....(Bach, The Weakerthans, Samiam, Sublime, Elliott Smith, The Mars Volta, The Knife, Sigur Ros, Pink Floyd, Left, Pervers Gut....)

Organisations I belong to:

BeVolunteer, WWOOF

Travel experiences

Past trips:

India, Nepal, Thailand, Australia, New Zealand, Tonga, USA, Canada, Russia most parts of Europe.

Planned trips:

Spain & Portugal in October 2012

Belongs to the following groups


"FAQs update" task force

Giving input from the developer team side

Show all groups


wheelchairnever ask
Max number of guests:
Maximum length of stay:

It depends on you.

I Live With:

Irina and our newborn son.

Please bring:

sleeping bag, good mood & chocolate... no more strong alcohol specialities from your country, please. We have already too much of it, and we don't drink it (though I would't say no to a 40 year old single malt ;- ) )

I can offer my guests:
A dinner.

sharing meals, good conversations with a cup of tea, couch, place on the floor, internet,

I can offer my hosts:

i can cook spicy food for you. (usualy too spicy for most of my guests so far).

Other information for guests:

I live in the north of Hamburg about 13.5min by local transport to the city center.

Public transport:

From Hamburg Central Station:
Take green line S1 direction "Airport/Poppenbüttel" to Barmbek. Then you can go two stops with Bus 172 or 7 to Hermann-Kauffmann-Straße walk 10-15 minutes.

From Hamburg Airport:
Take green line S1 direction Blankenese to Barmbek. Then you can go two stops with Bus 172 or 7 to Hermann-Kauffmann-Straße or just walk 10-15 minutes.

House Rules:
No smoking.

Family and close friends

Login to display family and close friends.

Latest comments

Login to display the latest comments.