Picture of dominic


About me

isn't it great to be able to choose a one word username? the early adopter's perk.

i hitchhike all the time; i've crossed the 100,000km mark thumbing. i am from new zealand, but sometimes feel like i am lying a little when i tell people that - especially when i talk to other kiwis. i try to make enough money on the street with my guitar for all my travel, and mostly it works out, depending on the place and the season. i like music to be excellent lyrically and interesting instrumentally. i love to read, but barely have books. i think that the internet is great. please teach me your language (unless you only speak english).

Spoken languages

  • English Mother Tongue
  • French Fluent
  • Turkish Intermediate
  • Portuguese (br) Beginner
  • Spanish Beginner
  • Persian Beginner

My interests


i really like playing, singing, writing music. i made some!
solo stuff: http://paperwallpaper.bandcamp.com/
with sadie: soundcloud.com/barbie-frankenstein


i also made some short travel thingies. i need to make more!

Organisations I belong to:

http://www.couchsurfing.org/profile.html?id=5WA1WM5 - if you wanna see my track record w/r/t hospitality exchange.

Travel experiences

Past trips:

hitchhiking across much of europe and turkey, boat hitchhiking to las canarias, hitchhiking to and around Iran. also from thailand to singapore. and morocco. and australia! and my native new zealand.

Planned trips:

to everlasting peace

Belongs to the following groups




Show all groups


never ask
Max number of guests:
Maximum length of stay:

let's see how it goes.

I Live With:

lisa and clemens (they are friends in my friend thing), Eliza, and (for the next little while) Simon and Luke.

Please bring:

battery power on your electronic devices! head lamps! torches!
don't bring any food, seriously we have enough to share with you (unless it's something really special).
we like alcohol and similar things :)

I can offer my guests:
A dinner.

so! I live in a beautiful home we have named chateau de la goon with Eliza, Simon, Luke, and (they are away till August) Lisa and Clemens, in Brunswick, a very central location right next to the tram and the train. this is a squatted residence so there are some drawbacks. we don't have internet (except on our phones) or power. and we only have a trickle of water coming through the taps. still we make do in fine style. also we dumpster dive, you can come along! we have way too much food and it's delicious and we like to cook together and share. you may be able to borrow a bike. there are places nearby where you can charge your phone and access the internet. you'll have to shower like we do: heat up water in a pot and then use a cup to wash yourself. it's very fun and eco friendly! because this is a squat, we require that you treat the space with a lot of respect and are quiet and considerate; mostly people get evicted when the neighbors complain. we have a unique and interesting lifestyle. it's pretty cool.

Public transport:

two minutes from either Jewell Station (train) or the Brunswick Rd/Royal Parade tram stop. once here you can probably use one of our bicycles. we live right next to the cycle paths so it's only 15 minutes to Fitzroy or 15 minutes to the CBD. it doesn't get better than this.

House Rules:

again i really have to say that this is a squatted residence and you have to be considerate. the neighbors are very near so if you are outside or the door is open it's important to be quiet. and when entering and exiting you should be very discrete.
i can't say this enough :)

Family and close friends

Login to display family and close friends.

Latest comments

Login to display the latest comments.