Picture of Jurek

Jurek Jurek

About me

I have just move to a new location and cannot host for some time. Because we moved to Poland anything that relates to Wilmington NC (USA) no longer applies.

I live with my family (wife and 3 very energetic kids) in Kraków (Poland). Previously we were living mostly in Wilmington NC (USA), for some time also in Philadelphia PA (USA), London (UK) and ... I was also living in Antarctica. Well, I visited this continent already several times and spend in total over 2 years there (my longest stay lasted over a year), so I think I can consider Antarctica not just as a place that I have visited by where I have been living or where I move from to time for the summer season.

In the past I traveled a lot by hitch-hiking all over Europe, recently also around the New Zealand. I have also made a few trips along South America and across the USA. I has often traveled with and/or been hosted by people whom I met on the way. I have also hosted in the past some travelers I met or friends-of-friends.

I still travel quite a lot but mostly with my family now, often camping and sleeping in a tent. Our kids love that and they are really eager for visiting new places and meeting new people. I am planning to surf (together with my kids) and I am willing to host people who are able to cope well with small and very active kids.

Recently, after joining CouchSurfing and then BeWelcome, I have hosted 32 travelers from 12 countries (with the youngest travelers being less than 2 years old), including:
Poland (6), USA (6), Canada (4), Germany (3), France (3), Malaysia (2), Lithuania (2), Russia (2), Ukraine (1), Uzbekistan (1), Bangladesh (1) & Slovakia (1).

I was hosted (mostly together with family) by 7 hosts, in:
– Madawaska Valley, Ontario, Canada (July 2017: 12 days, July 2016: 6 days),
– Petawawa, Ontario, Canada (July 2016: 5 days),
– Toronto & Kaszuby, Ontario, Canada (July 2016: 1 day, July 2015: 4 days),
– Philadelphia PA, USA (July 2015: 4 days),
– Barcelona, Catalonia, Spain (July 2013: 3 days),
– Barcelona, Catalonia, Spain (July 2013: 2 days),
– Washington DC, USA (July 2012: 4 days).

You are welcome to check my references at CouchSurfing if you like – my CS membername is "Jurek_S" (http://www.couchsurfing.org/people/Jurek_S/).

Spoken languages

  • Polish Mother Tongue
  • English Fluent

My interests


Polar Zones – I am hopelessly addicted to that ;-))
but also travel (particularly camping and backpacking), nature and travel photography, birdwatching, biology

Organisations I belong to:

CouchSurfing - membername "Jurek_S" (http://www.couchsurfing.org/people/Jurek_S/)
but due to dishonest privatization and transformation of CouchSurfing into a corporation I have moved to BeWelcome.

Travel experiences

Past trips:

LIVED: USA, Antarctica, United Kingdom, Poland.

TRAVELED (42 countries, Antarctica & Svalbard):

EUROPE: Andorra, Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Croatia, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Hungary, Ireland, Italy, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Monaco, Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Russia, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Svalbard, Ukraine, United Kingdom.

North AMERICA: Canada, USA.
in USA 41 states: Arizona, California, Colorado, Connecticut, Delaware, Florida, Georgia, Hawaii, Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maine, Maryland, Massachusetts, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, Nevada, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New Mexico, New York, North Carolina, Ohio, Oklahoma, Oregon, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, South Carolina, South Dakota, Tennessee, Utah, Vermont, Virginia, Washington, Washington DC, West Virginia, Wyoming.

South AMERICA: Argentina, Bolivia, Brazil, Paraguay, Uruguay, Venezuela.

ASIA: Malaysia.

OCEANIA: Australia, New Zealand.

ANTARCTICA: maritime Antarctic (King George Island), continental Antarctic (Victoria Land, Ross Sea).

Planned trips:

"A good traveler has no fixed plans, and is not intent on arriving" (Lao Tzu) ;-))

Belongs to the following groups


Bewelcome Families

There is 5 in my family. I host and often travel together with my wife and our 3 kids.

Show all groups


never ask
Max number of guests:
Maximum length of stay:

Up to a few days perhaps, all depend on the guests – you all know in some cases one night might be too much, in other you regret that guests could not stay longer.

I say we can host up to 4(-5), but this is with families in mind. In case of non family travelers 2(-3) is probably the most. We have 3 (8, 11 & 14 years old) very energetic and active kids. This is why we would like to host people with kids. But we may also host respectful non-family travelers.

I Live With:

My wife and 3 very energetic, (over-)active and curious kids.

Please bring:

Yourself, good mood and your travel stories to share over a nice bottle of red wine (beer is OK as well) and/or a good meal, but ... I am very bad cook so you will have to take care of that :-)

A lot of patience to small over-active and very curious kids constantly running around the house.

Sleeping mats, bags and towels could also be helpful.

I can offer my guests:

our hospitality

Other information for guests:

We cannot offer very comfortable coach. We are renting a small and relatively old house, and because almost all the houses/apartments around here are rented without any furniture our house is equipped only with very basic furniture. Therefore for sleeping we can offer only a sofa which can sleep one person and/or a big floor in the living room which can easily sleep a few people (but you would need your own slipping bags and pads/mattress for the floor). The living room is open into the dining room and kitchen, so there is no much privacy. For kids we can also offer a mattresses in our kids rooms.

Our kids go to school, so during week days we get up very early (at 6am). During the week days we are also busy, so weekends and school breaks seems to be the best time when we could host some travelers – if we do not go somewhere for the weekend ourselves.

House Rules:
No smoking, No drugs.

No smoking please (in the house and around kids).

Latest comments

Login to display the latest comments.