Picture of Earlyturtle

Earlyturtle

Profile Translations

Englishespañol

About me

These two thoughts are my port and starboard for now, and somehow the ship keeps running:

1."Freedom is only necessity understood, and bondage to the highest is identical with true freedom."- William James

2. "Never stay up on the barren heights of cleverness, but come down into the green valleys of silliness."- Ludwig Wittgenstein

I live in Madrid and might be in the position to host depending on the time.
I aim to make myself available to travellers/visitors even when I can't host, so if you want to see the city and have a chat please get in touch.

My email address is earlyturtle (a) mac (d) com,mobile is +34 600 701039

I like direct and personal requests. If you're requesting on behalf of a friend, get them to write me.

I'm from Bristol in the UK and I've been travelling on and off since 2009. Hitch-hiking is where I am happiest. I write about it occasionally on the blog at the bottom.

Spoken languages

  • English Mother Tongue
  • Spanish Beginner
  • Japanese Beginner

My interests

Hobbies:

"How you spend your days is how you spend your life."
At the moment my main hobbies are playing the guitar, making things out of leather, reading and writing. When the weather's bad I watch films, which means in Madrid I don't watch a lot of them.

Books:

Sculpting in Time by Andrei Tarkovsky

Music:

Always in my collection: Eliane Radigue, Leonard Cohen, DJ Shadow
Listening to addictively right now: Swamp Dogg, Big Star, Doris Duke, John Hartford, Bach

Films:

The three directors who have inspired me the most are Andrei Tarkovsky, Akira Kurosawa and Werner Herzog.

Other films that inspired me are Y Tu Mama Tambien, Once Upon A Time In The West, 3Iron, Silent Running, Cinema Paradiso, For All Mankind, Baraka, Dark Days, Bus 174, Big River Man.

Travel experiences

Past trips:

Best explained in person, or for a glimpse read the hitch-hiking page on the blog address at the bottom.

Planned trips:

Belongs to the following groups

Group

Abruzzo

Here occasionally.

Group

BewelcomeLV

I want to share what I can with other travellers and hosts.

Show all groups

Accommodation

maybe
Max number of guests:
1
Maximum length of stay:

One or two nights.

I Live With:

Two guys from England. La casa de los ingleses...

Please bring:

I think you can safely turn up empty-handed, just bring an open mind and basic decency, and things will work.

I can offer my guests:
A guided tour, A dinner.

Tea, chats, walking around the place, slack-lining trips to the park.

I can offer my hosts:

Involvement. 8 years a wwoofer and hitcher. Good at helping out with whatever needs doing, stepping back and being quiet included.
I teach English for a living, happy to share that as well as anything I know about music.

Other information for guests:

I can cook for vegetarians, or you can cook vegan and teach me.

Public transport:

The flat is a 15 minute walk from Atocha station.

Atocha station is a €5 bus from the airport or a €5 metro ride. It takes the same amount of time but if you get the metro you may as well go all the way to the Lavapiés metro station. We live on the road next to it (1.5 minute walk).

House Rules:

Smoke out the window.
Anything you use, please leave it as you found it.

Family and close friends

Login to display family and close friends.

Latest comments

Login to display the latest comments.