Countries » United Kingdom



Login to see more members.



The United Kingdom is made up of four countries: England, Northern Ireland, Scotland and Wales. Its full official title is "the United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland". In case you were wondering, "Great Britain" isn't some kind of national boast - it's the name of the island shared by England, Scotland and Wales - the largest of the British isles. Here is - a great video that explainsit all.


The UK's capital city is London (which is also the capital of England), but Northern Ireland, Scotland and Wales all have their own national capitals:

Northern Ireland: Belfast

Scotland: Edinburgh

Wales: Cardiff

Other major cities are:

Other Destinations

Getting there

Passports and Visas

If you do not have a EU passport, check the Visa rules applicable to your visit to the UK very carefully before departure. The UK Border Police can be quite fierce about applying these rules. For example, if you are travelling in Europe on a Schengen Visa then your entry to the UK will be treated as if you arrived from your home country, the Schengen Visa gives you no extra right to enter the UK. Conversely, if your Schengen Visa has expired, then whatever your UK Visa status is you are likely to be expelled back to your home country!

Additionally, it's recommended you do not state you are a guest via BeWelcome or that you are a "couch surfer" on your entry forms or in discussion with the Immigration Officer of the Border Police. Write down the details of a Hostel, and use those. It's this writer's experience that the Border Police do not understand the couch surfing model at all well, and they have in the past refused entry to two of my incoming surfers for no other reason than this.

Getting around

What to do


Eat and Drink


Learn more