Picture of teeshirt

teeshirt Tihomir Rangelov

About me

I have hosted a few travellers in Iceland, besides many friends and friends of friends. I have been hosted in Spain, Nepal, China, Russia, USA, Japan, Finland, Sweden, Faroe Islands... I have had fantastic experiences and made many friends through hospitality exchange networks.

I try to keep an open mind and not have any expectations when I host or am hosted. People say I am generally easy-going but there are some things which I do not tolerate, e.g. racism and prejudice. I really appreciate a good sense of humour and especially people who know how to be sarcastic about themselves:)

I have more references on my CS profile: https://www.couchsurfing.com/users/1624497/profile

Spoken languages

  • Bulgarian Mother Tongue
  • English Expert
  • Icelandic Fluent
  • Swedish Fluent
  • Russian Intermediate
  • Spanish Intermediate
  • Norwegian Intermediate
  • Bislama Intermediate
  • Danish Intermediate
  • Portuguese Beginner
  • Indonesian Beginner
  • Faroese Beginner

My interests

Hobbies:

I get distracted very easily and cannot usually do the same thing for too long. However, my life long passion is languages and linguistics - never get tired of it. Otherwise I work on the open-source machine translation software Apertium, as a freelance translator. I am also interested in travelling (of course!), endangered languages... I might be going back to Vanuatu to do research on a tiny language that is going extinct. I have also worked in restaurants, hotels, hostels, a home for people with disabilities, a language teaching website and as a teacher.

Books:

I try to read as much fiction as I can but have had time mostly for school books these days.

Music:

Dead Can Dance, Lisa Gerrard, Tori Amos, Ani DiFranco, Huun Huur Tu...

Films:

Ingmar Bergman, Andrey Tarkovsky... I watch many documentaries.

Travel experiences

Past trips:

I travelled around the world in 2008 for five months, got robbed, criss-crossed the USA by train, visited some pacific islands, biked and hiked around New Zealand, got sick in Thailand and celebrated Christmas in Tokyo.

In 2011 I travelled overland from Nepal to Iceland through Tibet, China, Mongolia and Russia.

In 2013 I cycled in Argentina, Chile and Bolivia.

I did an 18-month trip that took me sailing from India to Malaysia, then on to Myanmar, Indonesia, Papua New Guinea, the Solomon Islands, Vanuatu and New Zealand where I did some cycling.

I traveled down the Amazon river by boat, visited some volcanoes in Ecuador, carnival in Rio and spent three months in fantastic Colombia.

Besides, many smaller trips, including Greenland and some places in Europe.

I am currently traveling in central Asia (Kyrgyzstan, Kazakhstan and Tajikistan) by bicycle. Later in 2016 I want to visit Iran, which I have been dreaming about for years.

Planned trips:

I am a kind of nomadic freelancer (I travel slowly and I stop to work when I have some assignment).

WANTS TO GO (Places that I am really excited to see): IRAN, Falkland Islands (Islas Malvinas), Georgia (beautiful people), Guatemala (volcanos), Madagascar, Nepal (I want to go back and do some more hiking), Niue (I am kind of obsessed with islands), Samoa, Tokelau, Tonga, Tuvalu, Venezuela (rainforests), Azores and Madeira (practise my Portuguese and climb volcanoes), Vietnam (fantastic views and food).

Belongs to the following groups

Group

Bulgaria

it is my home country

Show all groups

Accommodation

never ask
Max number of guests:
1
Maximum length of stay:

I am travelling at the moment

I can offer my guests:
A guided tour, A dinner.
I can offer my hosts:

My lovely self :)
Besides, I can cook simple meals and I make very good pancakes :)

Other information for guests:

I do not have any expectations regarding my guests or hosts, except for them to be sane and easy-going people. It is enough for me to provide/get a place to sleep and maybe a shower and some local advice and knowledge. I have made amazing friends through hospitality exchange, some of them when I least expected things to work out in that way; I consider these friendships a bonus.

I like BeWelcome because it is open-source and I prefer to use it than other hospex websites. If you are interested in my references, you can visit my profile on CS:
http://www.couchsurfing.org/people/tee-shirt/

House Rules:

*no discrimination
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Discrimination
*no narrow-mindedness
*I drink at a rate of one beer per week. I am almost allergic to alcohol and very drunk people, unless you are hilarious when you are drunk (and I do not mean sleeping-on-the-street-with-your-head-on-a-slice-of-pizza hilarious :) ).

Latest comments

Login to display the latest comments.