Picture of sigurdas

sigurdas Romuald Bokej anytime

Profile Translations

Englishlietuvių

About me

"Don't you know then, my son, how little wisdom rules the world?" Thank you for reading my profile before you contact me.

Spoken languages

  • Russian Mother Tongue
  • English Expert
  • Lithuanian Expert
  • Polish Fluent
  • Swedish Fluent
  • German Intermediate
  • Spanish Beginner
  • Slovak Beginner

My interests

Hobbies:

Extreme (survival) travel, hitch-hiking, eco-activism, animal rights, gardening, biodynamic farming and eco-lifestyle, sustainability, painting/drawing, busking, songwriting, torturing my guitar (sometimes I switch onto accordion, piano or djembé), amateur climbing (love it, but can't really do that properly yet), languages, computer animation, basic HTML, editing lt.wikipedia (and more: sv.wikipedia, en.wikipedia, trashwiki.org, hitchwiki.org), blogging, enjoying sunshine... I also have some of my music online, check it out here: http://www.myspace.com/romualdbokej

Books:

Arundhati Roy "The God of Small Things", Antoine de Saint-Exupéry "The little prince", Paulo Coelho "The Alchemist", Victor Hugo "Hunchback of Notredam"...

Music:

José González, The Knife, Blonde Redhead, Sonic Youth, Nick Drake, Stina Nordenstam, Portishead, Jonas Hellborg, Tom Waits, Gjallarhorn, Space, Depeche Mode, Keith Jarrett, Кино & Виктор Цой, Борис Гребенщиков, Andrius Mamontovas & Foje, The Gathering, My Dying Bride, PJ Harvey, Nirvana.

Films:

"Earthlings" (2005), "Samsara" (2001), "Baraka" (1992)...

Organisations I belong to:

# Swedish Food and Environment Information: www.smmi.nu
# Animal Rights Lithuania: www.animalrights.lt

Travel experiences

Past trips:

I have lived in Lithuania, Germany, Sweden, Slovakia and hitch-hiked in 33 countries (more than 100'000 km). Traveled few times above the arctic circle - ultimately loved it.

Planned trips:

One of my ideas is to experience hitch-hiking in all 45 (?) countries of today's Europe, and to visit every single capital in Europe. | When I was a little kid, fascinated by Jack London books, I said to myself: one day I'm gonna walk by foot to the North Pole! However, I am not sure about it now. Some winter, though, I am planning to go into the wild of the north Scandinavia (Lapland) and try to survive there for at least 1 month with the only provisions I'll carry with me. | Even though for the last few years I was residing calmly in Sweden without traveling so much, in general I do have a habit to stay and live and work in different places, experiencing local life not as a tourist, but as an explorer who tries to melt within the local community and its daily routine. My next big desire is to go to Asia in my own car or on my own bicycle, then walk from the Indian ocean coast up to Tibet, staying/living/working anywhere I can. Someday I simply want to abandon this fancy and poshy life in rich Europe. However, I never forget that "When the wishes are few, the heart is happy. When craving ends, there is peace." (The Buddha)... peace... love... empathy...

Belongs to the following groups

Group

bewelcomevolunteers

translation volunteer

Group

CouchSurfing

a member here, a member there :)same username

Show all groups

Accommodation

yes, i can host
Max number of guests:
2
Maximum length of stay:

depends on you

I Live With:

my parttner Petra and son Inok

I can offer my guests:
A dinner.
I can offer my hosts:

my cooking skills
live music
solutions to solve a rubik's cube
chess partner

Other information for guests:

We prefer hosting people who do not travel by plane. *** We live in the countryside, about 50 km outside of Stockholm, in an eco-village. One has to take a local train towards Gnesta and get off at Järna station in order to get here. The village is 30 min. away by foot. *** We are all vegans in the family, that's why no animal products (no meat/fish, no milk products and such) are allowed at our place, and prefferably no alcohol.

Public transport:

there is no public transport around, but we live 3 km from a train station where there is a commuter train to Stockholm every hour.

House Rules:
No smoking, No alcohol, No drugs.

# vegan food only
# do your dishes
# contribute in food shopping

Family and close friends

Login to display family and close friends.

Latest comments

Login to display the latest comments.