Picture of sannebongers

sannebongers Sanne anytime

About me

Life keeps changing and happening.. it's interesting to see how it evolves. I used to live in Utrecht and work as an editor of study books and as a researcher.
In 2011 I did some work as a volunteer on farms and loved that a lot. I decided to stop doing research and editing work and search for work that I liked more. In 2012 I worked as a cook in a vegetarian restaurant.
I traveled around with Marc (www.couchsurfing.org/oysie) since 2013, looking for an eco-community to join.
In 2016 our baby was born and we stayed in the area of Órgiva in Andalucia, Spain for 6 months with the newborn. Then we spent about 1,5 years trying to settle in Portugal, and after that we decided to head back to Andalucia where we've had good times before, and settle here instead. I still do the same editing work and Marc is starting singing and theatre classes.

Spoken languages

  • Dutch Mother Tongue
  • English Expert
  • French Intermediate
  • Spanish Beginner

My interests

Hobbies:

cooking and eating for and with friends, music, hiking in beautiful countryside, animals in general, horses specifically, biking, hitchhiking, camping, growing my own food, meditation.

Books:

Anything that's a good read and can be called literature.

Music:

I have a very wide taste in music, from friendly easy stuff like Feist, Jack Johnson, Norah Jones etc to alternative music like Radiohead, Bjork, Smashing Pumpkins, and the rougher stuff: Tool, Nine Inch Nails, Rammstein. And then also some 60s&70s heroes, flamenco, other world music, old-fashioned jazz and danceable stuff like drum&bass and other groovy music. Since my taste is so wide, my collection is big, but far from complete :)

Films:

everything by Pixar, Coen Brothers, Tim Burton, Lars von Trier, Office Space, Monty Python, ... I can keep going for some time here.

Travel experiences

Past trips:

Many short ones in Europe! One hitchhiking adventure of 4 months through Europe. A nice month in Iceland. Lots of hitchhiking in general. Did a project in Jordan, teaching music workshops to the Syrian children in Zaatari refugee camp. Went to Kyrgyzstan (2 months) and India (2,5 months). Spent 5 months in London. Spent 1,5 years in Portugal. Keep coming back to Andalucia. We've now settled there.

Planned trips:

One day back to India.

Accommodation

yes, i can host
Max number of guests:
3
Maximum length of stay:

Depends how we get along. Let's start with 2-3 nights.

I Live With:

Marc my partner and my two year old son.

I can offer my guests:
A dinner.

We are renting a hand-built strawbale cortijo close to Torvizcón. It's in a beautiful spot with gorgeous views of the Sierra Nevada and the valley just below us. We live off-grid, but quite comfortable, since we have a good solar system etc.
Next to the house is a caravan, where you'll be staying. It has everything you need: bed, table and little kitchen. The compost toilet is close to the caravan.

Other information for guests:

About the area: Torvizcón is in the Alpujarra, a gorgeous region next to Sierra Nevada national park, not to far from Granada (1,5 hour drive).
It's wonderful to go hiking anywhere in this area. We're 15 minutes by car from Órgiva, which is sort of hippy capital of Andalucia, with lots of nice activities happening all year round (like yoga classes and concerts etc) and lots of good (vegetarian) food to be found in the restaurants.

Public transport:

You can reach our place by bus, but if you arrive on a day that we're in Órgiva we're happy to pick you up there.

House Rules:
No smoking, No drugs.

If you smoke, please go outside.
Don't be crazy with electricity use, we do live off grid!
We have limited internet. You're welcome to use it for checking emails, but please don't surf for hours.
We'll explain compost toilet use to you when you get here :)

Family and close friends

Login to display family and close friends.