Picture of sahalin

sahalin Igor

About me

June-August 2016: Germany, Scandinavia, USA & Canada !!!


Some random information about me:
perfectionist, disorganized, like precision, often late, potentially offensive sense of humour (so I avoid making jokes around people I don't know well and so I appear too serious sometimes), ...

I want to write nice references, but it takes me a looong time. Waiting time is usually proportionate to the positiveness of experience :|

I love literature, films, languages, good wine, history, sweets, maps and travel guides, hiking, skiing, museums, hitchhiking(autostop), humanitarian law ... But I'm usually open to try new stuff, you never know what you may get hooked on.

Facebook - http://www.facebook.com/profile.php?id=650833066

2014: surfed in France, Romania, Spain, Hungary, Poland, Crete, Florence, Malta, hosted meetings in Ljubljana + BM meetings in Cluj and Ljubljana
2015: surfed in Austria, Tunisia, Hungary, Romania, Estonia, Russia, Ukraine, Serbia, Montenegro, UAE, Oman, Spain + BM meetings in Albania and Montenegro
2016: surfed in Italy, Romania, Bulgaria, Serbia + BM meeting in Bulgaria


Travel projects/ideas for near future, some company is very welcome:
- more Croatian coast, Montenegro, Albania
- northern Romania+west Ukraine, more Bulgaria
- Greece: mountains, other islands (or Crete again ...)
- ski resorts outside Alps
- more Poland: castles, lakes, Auschwitz, mountains, beaches, Łódź...
- more France, more Germany, northern Spain
- more Morocco: not in summer, maybe by car
- Eastern Turkey and further to Caucasus
- Iran, Iraq, Syria, Lebanon, Jordan - if they're not in trouble

Spoken languages

  • Slovenian Mother Tongue
  • English Expert
  • French Expert
  • Russian Fluent
  • Serbian Fluent
  • Spanish Intermediate

My interests

Hobbies:

ART: Art Nouveau, Dalí, gothic, mosaics, ...
nature, cycling, stamps, coins, EBT :), ...

Books:

Ivo Andrić, Meša Selimović, Kazantzakis, Vladimir Bartol, Gogol, Orwell, Vargas Llosa, Calvino, W.G.Sebald, Pamuk, Yann Martel...

Music:

good pop, rock, classical (mainly 19th century and Shostakovich), ethno/folk, ska, non-English, German disco with stupid lyrics, slo.punk, ...

Films:

Kieślowski, plenty of good ex-YU movies (Ko to tamo peva, Maratonci trče počasni krug, Okupacija u 26 slika, Lepa sela lepo gore, Deveti krug), some Slovene classics (Nasvidenje v naslednji vojni, Vesna, Rdeče klasje, Kekec, Na svoji zemlji, ...), Manchevski, Sergio Leone, Hitchcock, Costa Gavras, Kitano, Requiem for a Dream, Dr. Strangelove, Paths of Glory, Life of Brian, Kunsten a tenke negativt, ...

Travel experiences

Past trips:

TRAVELED: Albania, Andorra, Austria, Belgium, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Bulgaria, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech Republic, England, Estonia, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Italy, Kosovo, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Macedonia-FYROM, Malta, Moldova, Montenegro, Morocco, Oman, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Russia, Serbia, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Switzerland, Tunisia, Turkey, Ukraine, UAE, Vatican
LIVED: Slovenia, Turkey

Planned trips:

WANTS TO GO: Albania, Argentina, Armenia, Azerbaijan, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Canada, Cape Verde, Djibouti, Egypt, Eritrea, Estonia, Ethiopia, Falkland Islands (Islas Malvinas), Faroe Islands, Finland, France, Georgia, Gibraltar, Greenland, Guatemala, Iran, Israel, Japan, Kosovo, Lebanon, Libya, Mauritania, Mexico, Portugal, Scotland, Syria, United States, Uzbekistan, Western Sahara
IS GOING TO: Germany, Denmark, Sweden, Norway, USA, Canada, Mexico?

Belongs to the following groups

Accommodation

maybe
Max number of guests:
2
I Live With:

I live about 4km from the centre with my family and a parrot. Unfortunately I can host only very rarely, on certain weekends (once I get my own place, I'll probably get an overdose of hosting to pay back for all my surfing :) But you can still get lucky, so do try. It helps if your profile isn't empty. If we've met before it's usually no problem though.

Our place is easily accessible by public transport, unfortunately you can't bring your own pets, no smoking, excessive drinking etc., try to keep it tidy.

I can offer my guests:
A guided tour.

Even if I can't host you, I'd be usually very happy to meet for a drink or show you around, so feel free to contact me with your proposals. In any case I try to reply everyone ASAP.

Public transport:

bus stop close by

House Rules:
No smoking, No alcohol, No drugs.

Family and close friends

Login to display family and close friends.

Latest comments

Login to display the latest comments.