Picture of roymarvelous

roymarvelous

About me

I'm a Kiwi [key-weeee] i.e. New Zealander [Nu-Zoo-lend-uh] - yes, famous for such things as kiwifruit, sheep and Lord of the Rings.

I left NZ in 2004 and have been semi-nomadic since. I am currently working on a cruise ship, discovering the seven seas.

travel blog: Roymarvelous.com
travel guide: WorkingHolidayVisaGuide.com
doodles: stickmen & unicorns
facebook: facebook page
twitter: twitter/roymarvelous
couchsurfing: couchsurfing profile

Spoken languages

  • English Mother Tongue

My interests

Hobbies:

I'm a very curious person (or maybe it's ADD) so I'm interested in most things. Not cricket, ballet, opera or line dancing, however. You gotta draw a line somewhere!

Books:

1984, Animal farm, To kill a mocking bird, Catcher in the rye, Man's Search for Meaning

Music:

Anything I can dance to! So most Electronic and some Pop, Hip Hop, Jazz. Also ethno music and drum circles. There are so many interesting mash-ups and sub-genres these days that I'll listen (& try to dance) to anything at least once!!

Films:

Pulp Fiction, American Beauty, Romeo & Juliet, Matrix, Run Lola Run, Amelie, Life is Beautiful, Fight Club, Bladerunner, Forrest Gump, An Inconvenient Truth, Thank you for Smoking.

Organisations I belong to:

Couchsurfing

Travel experiences

Past trips:

TRAVELED: Antigua and Barbuda, Argentina, Aruba, Australia, Barbados, Belgium, Belize, British Virgin Islands, Chile, Colombia, Costa Rica, Denmark, Dominica, Dominican Republic, Ecuador, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Grenada, Haiti, Honduras, Hungary, Iceland, India, Ireland (Republic of), Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Maldives, Mexico, Netherlands, Netherlands Antilles, Norway, Panama, Peru, Poland, Portugal, Puerto Rico, Russia, Saint Kitts and Nevis, Saint Lucia, Saint Martin, Scotland, Slovakia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, The Bahamas, Trinidad and Tobago, Turkey, US Virgin Islands, United Arab Emirates, Vatican

LIVED: Canada, Czech Republic, England, Latvia, Malaysia, New Zealand, Singapore, Thailand, United States, At Sea

Planned trips:

Belongs to the following groups

Group

Vancouver

Because I live in Vancouver

Accommodation

never ask
Max number of guests:
1
Maximum length of stay:

depends

I Live With:

by myself

Please bring:

towel, good mood

I can offer my guests:

blankets, good company, hugs.
as long as I'm not working I like to spend time with my guests :)

I can offer my hosts:

cooking, good company, hugs

Other information for guests:

You are MORE THAN WELCOME....but please read all these points first.

1. We go to bed around 11pmish during the week and much later on weekends. We often have/go to parties on weekends. If you are an early sleeper or party-hater, this could be an issue.

2. Obviously please remember all common sense rules. Be tidy, humble, respectful etc. We want you to be comfortable but don't forget that you're still a guest :)

3. Preference is given to people who have hosted other people before. If not, at least try to have an interesting profile and write a good couchrequest! I want to meet fun people, not be a homeless shelter :)

4. Bonus points if you quote: "I want to surf your marvelous couch".

Public transport:

Commercial Drive area so very close to buses & skytrain.

House Rules:

please be a good guest :)

Family and close friends

Login to display family and close friends.

Latest comments

Login to display the latest comments.