Picture of pBWa

pBWa anytime

About me

I hear midlife crises are a lot of fun -- so why have just one? From pharmaceutical factory worker to domestic hobo, I've realized I have been a lot of things and probably will become a lot more. So having graduated from university studies in Conflict Resolution and International Development, I have no idea "what I'm going to do with that." But I'm doing things.

I try to work minimal paid hours, and instead volunteer my time to things I like: community gardening, bicycle repair, organize events in our neighborhood, hosting supper parties every Monday night. Right now I am gardening at a cool alternative cafe in Winnipeg to offset the cost of my rent at the Orange House, where we try to use the house for as many positive things in this struggling neighborhood as we can (community suppers, house shows, crafty parties, celebrations, and hosting you!).

Other times I dub mixtapes for friends far away or play accordion, wash the dishes or watch freight trains at the local yard, brew a batch of beer, join my friends for a bonfire after a show, or snag a ride outta town for a week or two.

This summer, I plan to continue learning how to sail, because I have a goal to hitch-sail across the Pacific Ocean in the next 4 years. But for right now, I really like living in my home city of Winnipeg.

Enough about what I do, here's who I think I am:
I'm a goof, a critic, a wannabe someone else blessed with positive good-wierdness, trying to give more back to the world then I take, and hoping that I never have to exaggerate when I tell my totally awesome future children all sorts of cool true stories.

I hope to meet you!

Spoken languages

  • English Expert
  • Tagalog Intermediate
  • Spanish Beginner

My interests

Hobbies:

DIY skills, knitting, research music old and new, reading, sleeping, playing and recording music, clothing repair, volunteer work, gardening, wild and urban foraging, dumpster diving, cycling and bike repair, political philosopy, freegan living

Books:

Classic fiction, historical, social, socio-theological, political philosophy, DIY and anarchist zines, inspirational, etc. Tolstoy, Dostoyevsky, Wendell Berry, Thomas Merton, Phillip Yancey, C.S. Lewis -- mostly classics from the thriftstore.

Music:

Sufjan Stevens, Damien Jurado, Denison Witmer, Blackbird RAUM, Hail Seizures, Ramshackle Glory, Defiance Ohio, Frank Turner, The Appleseed Cast, Thrice, Bifrost Arts, Son Lux, Beirut, Blur, Loney Dear, the illalogical spoon, Psalters, Half-Handed Cloud, Danielson, Andrew Jackson Jihad, Joanna Newsom, Boney M., Mute Math, Gorillaz

Films:

I like film-snob approved stuff, sometimes, and a bunch of freight train-related documentaries or movies about doing something good for the world, and ones that make you think about reality in a different way? I don't know.
Films I've recently enjoyed are Being John Malkovich, If A Tree Falls: The Story of the Earth Liberation Front, Looper, 12 Angry Men, Beasts of the Southern Wild.

I'm not really a film-snob, I just don't watch enough movies to see something that is not inspiring and motivating.

Organisations I belong to:

UWSA Bike Lab / Ice Riders
Spence Neighborhood Association
Many Rooms Church Community
MennoFolk

Travel experiences

Past trips:

Philippines - (6 months living)
Thailand - 2 months hitchhiking and WWOOFing
I've also been to the West coast of Canada several times, to the Northwest of USA and to the Midwest of US, mostly via hitchhiking and trainhopping.

Planned trips:

Love being here now, but also like the idea of more long-term travel pretty soon. The only solid goal right now, is to make sure that next time I cross the ocean, it is via a sailboat. I am currently working on building up sailing experience and knowledge and keeping my trips to the American continent.

Belongs to the following groups

Group

Camping & outdoor

i like bedding down in the wilderness while traveling

Group

Dumpster Diving

It´s my lifestyle.

Show all groups

Accommodation

yes, i can host
Max number of guests:
2
Maximum length of stay:

2 or 3 days, unless we like you so much we want to keep you forever!

I Live With:

3 other friends (1 female, 2 male), one large old cat.

Please bring:

A sense of responsibility and community -- be prepared to receive all that we can offer, and to give back what you can, mostly just help us keep the house a welcoming and usable place.

I can offer my guests:
A dinner.

A futon in the living room, perhaps your own room, bedding, food, land phone, wifi Internet, spare bicycle, information about Winnipeg, advice on hitchhiking in the area, etc, friendship.

I can offer my hosts:

To help with any chores or work, teaching do-it-yourself skills, cooking food, language exchange, friendship

Other information for guests:

Welcome to the Orange House, a community home. We practice hospitality formally and informally --check it out.

Public transport:

Fairly good in Winnipeg, and we live near downtown.

House Rules:
No drugs.

Smoking happens outside.