Picture of maartends

maartends Maarten

About me

Programming-philosophising-treehugging veggie nomad, just recently switched SE for BE. Born in what is now called Belgium. Lived in Belgium, Sweden and Switzerland.
My bike is my most precious asset.
Am a bundle of contradictions.
Critical/sceptical about relational norms.
Cynical pessimist and joyful optimist at the same time: I think sentient beings are inherently good, but I also think humanity is a cancer on this planet.
Have a Border Collie who likes math (who is currently living in Barcelona).
Fancy restaurants make me very uncomfortable.
Addicted to coffee and sambal.
Aspiring vegan, writer (with beard and pipe), nudist, early bird, parent,... aspiring a lot of things, really.
Full of ideas that - apparently - sound radical, but, in my mind are just logical.
Want to write a book on how our species can finally become human. And one on the importance of self-reference.
I don't get sarcasm. :-D
Earn your turns.

Still have a profile on CS as well, if you want/need more references... ;-)
https://www.couchsurfing.com/people/maartends

https://www.instagram.com/maartenforfattaren/

Favorite website: https://aeon.co/

Spoken languages

  • Dutch Mother Tongue
  • English Fluent
  • French Fluent
  • German Intermediate
  • Swedish Intermediate
  • Spanish Can only say Welcome!
  • Catalan Can only say Welcome!

My interests

Books:

Isaac Asimov, anything philosophy/physics.
Tip: The Evolution of Cooperation!

Music:

From Abba to ZZ Top (though neither Abba nor ZZ Top)
Tip: GoGo Penguin!

Films:

Il Postino, Donnie Darko, V for Vendetta, Léon, Force Majeure, The Green Mile, ...

Belongs to the following groups

Group

Cyclists

I love cycling. I do cycle-trips. I commute by bike. Etc etc... :-)

Group

WWOOF & Helpx

Wwoofing in Sweden!

Accommodation

maybe
Max number of guests:
2
Maximum length of stay:

Depends. I'd say, three days, to begin with... :-)

I Live With:

Two housemates.

I can offer my guests:

My shiny presence. :-)

Latest comments

Login to display the latest comments.