Picture of johncas

johncas anytime

About me

We live on the outskirts of a small town in Dorset in the South of England and have hosted people from a number of countries mostly through Couchsurfing which I gave up when they went commercial. This is a great system and it is good to meet people from different countries and learn about their cultures.

Spoken languages

  • English Mother Tongue
  • French Beginner

My interests

Hobbies:

Environment /Biology /Politics /Cooking /Photography /Home Improvement/ Music - Blues especially but lots of other music too. /play Guitar - not very well /People - just talking about life /Comedy / recently sailing

Books:

Favourite books "Rogers Profanisaurus", "Pop-Up Kama Sutra". Oh and "The God Delusion" by Richard Dawkins - everyone should read that.

Music:

Blues - from Robert Johnson and Howlin' Wolf to Stevie Ray Vaughn, Folk such as Paul Simon, Neil Young (if that is how it is categorised) Stephane Grapelli, Beatles, original Led Zep. (even though they pinched half the songs) old Dylan, Peter Green's Fleetwood Mac. Nirvana, Crowded House, Cream, Jimi Hendrix, Lightnin' Hopkins, the list isn't endless but it is very long.

Films:

I'm not a big film watcher but if I had to spend the evening in front of the TV, I would watch a Mel Brookes film. The Tarantinos I have seen I have enjoyed

Organisations I belong to:

Amnesty, Couchsurfers, Hospitality Club, Humanist Society, Secular Society.

Travel experiences

Past trips:

Belgium, Cyprus, France, Germany, Netherlands, USA, Greece, Italy, Ireland, Bulgaria.

Planned trips:

Belongs to the following groups

Group

Atheists & Agnostics

Because I'm an atheist

Group

BewelcomeLV

I would like to increase the number of members. I have already tried to spread the word with the CS people that have stayed here but I am looking forward to the bugs being cleaned out to make it work more efficiently.

Group

Biologists

I trained in biology

Show all groups

Accommodation

wheelchairyes, i can host
Max number of guests:
3
Maximum length of stay:

Depends on circumstances

I Live With:

My wife

Please bring:

Sheets/sleeping bag but not essential if travelling light + a sense of humour.

I can offer my guests:
A guided tour, A dinner.

Bed and bedding if you need it. Separate room with shower/bath

I can offer my hosts:

Conversation, friendship

Public transport:

Poor around here

House Rules:
No smoking, No drugs.

You can smoke outside

Latest comments

Login to display the latest comments.