Picture of jensowagner

jensowagner Jens Wagner anytime

About me

Personal Description

I work for the German foreign ministry. Always a few years in different places around the world: Brasilia, Abuja, Sarajevo ... Since summer 2015 back in Berlin :-)

My job permits me to combine two of my passions - travelling and politics.

Find out more about my travel scholarship project: www.facebook.com/team1world

A while ago, a German TV channel made a documentary comparing cs hosts in Berlin and Paris. The cs in Berlin happend to be me. Check it out on YouTube and you know more or less what to expect: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=eHjj_ZaquO4

For references, see www.couchsurfing.org/jensowagner

Spoken languages

  • German Mother Tongue
  • English Expert
  • Italian Intermediate
  • Portuguese Intermediate
  • Spanish Can only say Welcome!
  • Bosnian Can only say Welcome!

My interests

Hobbies:

Politics, traveling, literature, languages, improv theater.

Coffee, cycling, reading the Economist, Rio de Janeiro, beer, snow-boarding, skiing, Berlin, seeing wildlife, following election results come in, bets on election results, commenting election results, cooking, Italy, Italian food, Thai food, rainy season, thunderstorms, the Pacific Northwest, coffee, elephants, hiking in the desert, reading books about politics, history or languages, Santa Fe, the Simpsons, kayaking, Brazilian Portuguese, flip flops, mountains, trekking in the Himalayas, Der Spiegel, more coffee, Phi Phi Island, diving (just started), meditation, Dutch drug policies (before Geert Wilders changed them), swimming pools, airlines, BBC, Homo Faber, monkeys, still more coffee...

Books:

Quite an eclectic choice. Last books which I found inspiring or which boggled my mind:
"Saturday"
"Through the Language Glass - why the world looks different in other languages"
"Theories of International Politics - and Zombies"
"A case of exploding mangoes".

Films:

When it comes to movies, I enjoy a wide range, from Skandinavian minimalist dogme movies to Hollywood thrillers. However, pure action movies tend to bore me (as does watching sports).

Travel experiences

Past trips:

many

Planned trips:

even more!

Belongs to the following groups

Group

Berlin

Although I moved away 3 years ago, Berlin is the closest I have to a home base

Group

Berlin Board Games

i love the werewolf game!

Group

BeWelcomeTranslators

happy to help, e.g. with English-German

Show all groups

Accommodation

yes, i can host
Max number of guests:
5
Maximum length of stay:

2 - 3 nights is best

I Live With:

I live on my own

I can offer my guests:
A guided tour.

There is a guest room with two double mattresses and a second guest room with a double mattress.

You are welcome to use the fully equipped kitchen, dishwasher, washing machine (no dryer) and WiFi.

If you send me a request, be sure to include the magic word, which is my first name. Easy, right?

Public transport:

Just a few minutes walk from Ostbahnhof train station and Warschauer Straße (regional train S-Bahn), in colorful arty Friedrichshain district. The flat is on a quiet and green square, but some of Berlin's hot spots of night life and culture are just 5 min away.

House Rules:

***PLEASE***

I'm VEGETARIAN. No worries, I won't try to turn you into a veggie. However, I do ask my visitors not to bring any meat products into the apartment. Thank you for your understanding.

When staying at my place, please help not to waste ENERGY (e.g. don't keep the windows open and the heating on at the same time).

I ask visitors to take off their SHOES.

Finally: if you want to SMOKE, you are welcome to do so on the terrace - you'll be able to enjoy a nice view during that smoke!

Family and close friends

Login to display family and close friends.

Latest comments

Login to display the latest comments.