Picture of gwenthegwen

gwenthegwen

About me

Hello! I am excited to meet you :)

Spoken languages

  • English Mother Tongue
  • Welsh Fluent
  • French Intermediate
  • Italian Intermediate
  • Spanish Beginner

My interests

Hobbies:

I hoop for happiness :)
Recently I started to learn fiddle, going to a group that learns traditional Scottish tunes.
Being in the sunshine is a hobby that holds a particularly dear place in my heart, maybe because it is so rare here in Edinburgh.
I ADORE hot baths.
If looking at the amount of time spent doing something in non-work time is an indication of hobbies, then I guess going on facebook is a hobby of mine. Oh, shame on me.
I like festivals, being outside, spontaneity, meeting and getting to know people, live music, getting outraged at grammar mistakes then realising that I'm making them too, growing and cooking food, reading most things (yes, including lots of food labels), being by the sea, coveting academia, exploring places and ideas, being silly, being serious, alliteration. Ok, that's enough now.
Actually - no. Social issues are a 'hobby' of mine. This is such an intrinsic part of my life that I forgot to mention it. I care about people's issues, and I care about animals and plants. Call me hierarchical but probably in that order. I'm also massively into communication and practise Compassionate Communication (or Non-violent Communication).
My bike improves my quality of life no end.
My paid job involves helping people identify career (and to a lesser extent personal) goals, and helping them on the way towards achieving them. It's a good job and I'm blessed to be able to do it.

Books:

Yes. I devour them in a less indiscriminate manner than I would care to admit.

Music:

I have some speakers which produce a really lovely sound. I'm especially a fan of the bass notes.

Organisations I belong to:

Very proudly, Leith Community Crops in Pots, which I helped set up with some friends. We've become a a bit of a power-house recently for community and children's gardening groups, guerilla gardening, bee conservation, sustainable food eating, and generally Very Good Things.

Travel experiences

Past trips:

Some with couch surfing. My old profile is there, complete with references and vouching. Unfortunately I haven't yet figured out how to put a link here. Tips welcome :)

Planned trips:

Accommodation

never ask
Max number of guests:
1
Maximum length of stay:

*No host requests please!*
I'm leaving for a trip soon, and will be moving to a different place on my return to Edinburgh, details to follow.

My hosting status has changed until mid-September. No room at the inn, sorry! I may have time for a quick meet-up though, get in touch if you're interested!


A few nights - my alone time and spare time are very precious to me. Having said that, I have had guests stay weeks and it's been fine. So, flexible if you are willing to fit in.

I Live With:

Some house plants and the occasional spider.

Please bring:

Respect and authenticity.

I can offer my guests:
A dinner.

A double air bed in the living room, and/or a single in my 'box room' (read cupboard!) I don't prioritise housework, so if you're a cleanliness fan I can offer you my hoover!

I can offer my hosts:

A genuine thank you. I usually offer to prepare a meal. I try to keep my belongings in one place, and to fit in with your way while sharing space with you. While in my own space I might let mess gather, but when it's someone else's place I'm very mindful not to create disorder.

Public transport:

Excellent.

House Rules:

I prefer not to have smoke in my house, so will probably ask smokers to go outside.

Latest comments

Login to display the latest comments.