Picture of Tandem

Tandem Ryan anytime

About me

Grew up in Iowa and moved to Chicago for College. Been in chicago for the last...geez almost 7 years now.

I'm an old soul, patient, quiet and appreciative of everything in my life and who I've become.

I open my home to you, to hear your stories, share our lives even if its only for a day, to me, that is what life is about.
..
I'm a writer, kung fu fighter, biker, reader, drinker, trumpeter, photographer, Rock climber, skateboader, snowboader, wakeboader, swimmer, ultimate frisbee-player, videogame player, philosopher, scientist, comedian, traveler...

I am a jack of all trades, master of none. People usually use that phrase in a negative tone, but I disagree with the normal conception of life fulfillment. Why would I spend my whole life mastering one art? I understand that you can't fully appreciate a skill until you reach a certain level and for many reaching this level is a very prestigious and fulfilling goal no doubt. As for me, I want to try EVERYTHING and appreciate those that reach that level.

"To seek is to suffer" - Bodhidharma

Be happy in the now, not later. I try not to place my happiness within conditions, because like the wind, they can change in a matter of seconds.

Spoken languages

  • English Mother Tongue

My interests

Hobbies:

I love to bike, currently riding a Surly Long Haul Trucker for touring, would love to get a Carbon Trek Marone soon for fast travelling around the city.

Been studying a chinese kung fu called wing chun for 4 years and have met and trained with some amazing people.

Books:

Crime and Punishment, Kafka on the Shore, Life of Pi, The Baron in the Trees

Music:

Muse, Awolnation, Donovan, Jeff Buckley, Flashbulb, Little Dragon, Fun

Films:

Children of Men, Seven Samurai, Kill Bill, Hang Over

Organisations I belong to:

I also have a CS Profile that has references
https://www.couchsurfing.org/people/tandem/

Travel experiences

Past trips:

Tokyo/Nagano Japan in 2004
Belize, Honduras, Mexico, Guatemala - 2010

Planned trips:

Hong Kong to see Ip Ching, Grandmaster of Wing Chun

Belongs to the following groups

Accommodation

yes, i can host
Max number of guests:
5
Maximum length of stay:

Depending on how many are in your group and what's currently going on in my life, I'd say 3-4 days.

I Live With:

my 80 lbs akita named Bear

Please bring:

A pillow/sleeping bag.

I have a couch and a blow-up bed that can fit two, so if you're group is larger than 3 you will be sleeping on the floor.

I can offer my guests:
A guided tour, A dinner.

A couch, blow-up bed, Hot shower, Food/Beer :)

Other information for guests:

The apartment is split into a living room/kitchen area and a door that separates the main bedroom and bathroom, so there isn't really much privacy.

Public transport:

The bus stop is right out front of my apartment which can take you straight to the EL which is Chicago's main transportation to getting around.

House Rules:
No smoking.

Animals are welcomed if they get along with my dog.