Picture of Petros

Petros Petros

About me

I share my time between writing political articles, visiting "alternative" communities and developing open technologies for local economy in Thermaikos, Greece.

We may say that I tell stories, but sometimes I also turn them into reality.

I will be happy to bring you my stories and stories from people I met. And I will be happy to learn your stories and carry them to other people.
I do not need much, as long as I have my green tea, some internet link, and a place to sleep. Being an extravert, I am the tamed one. :-) And I still remember times before internet.

Spoken languages

  • Polish Mother Tongue
  • English Fluent
  • Russian Beginner
  • French Can only say Welcome!
  • German Can only say Welcome!
  • Greek Can only say Welcome!

My interests

Hobbies:

Bookchinism
Sustainable & resilient living (seriously taken)
Politics (P2P, The Commons, Cooperatives)
Hacking at large.

Books:

SF&F mostly. Cyberpunk, steampunk. Cory Doctorow, Neal Stephenson, Ion Williams.

Music:

Folk, sea songs,

Films:

Spaghetti westerns

Organisations I belong to:

https://freelab2104.wordpress.com
https://amargipl.wordpress.com
https://anabasis2015.wordpress.com

Travel experiences

Past trips:

Greece - Kerkyra 2008
Poland - many local trips
May/June 2013: Poland - Germany - Greece
May-August 2014: Norway
October 2014 - March 2015: Poland - Greece

Planned trips:

See my trips here: http://www.bewelcome.org/trip/show/Petros

Belongs to the following groups

Group

Amsterdam

I am coming to Amsterdam for the first time this August (to attend a hackers' conference). I believe it will not be my last time, though. So.

Group

Amsterdam Emergency

shelterlessness

Show all groups

Accommodation

never ask
Max number of guests:
2
Maximum length of stay:

3 days for sure -- then we may talk about something more.

I Live With:

My partner Natasha, and two dogs: Kai-san (akita-inu) and Kita-san (american akita).

Please bring:

Your camping gear. Whatever (tangible or not) you feel like sharing. Some food (ask first -- preferably freegan/dumpster-dived). If you have some tools to spare. Small electronic stuff (solar cells/panels, rechargeable batteries, sensors, single-board computers, SD-cards and pendrives). We run a lot of projects and use this stuff, so all donations will be appreciated.

I can offer my guests:
A guided tour, A dinner.

We have a marvelous place to live, except the furniture. So be ready to sleep on the floor as we all do.
We have usually some food to share (although a contribution is appreciated).
Working Internet link with wi-fi.
A lot of conversations on technology, history and politics (we are on the anarchist-ish "side of the street").
Quite a lot of knowledge and ebooks to copy.

I can offer my hosts:

Help with daily chores. Fixing house equipment (not a pro, though). Telling tall tales, jokes etc. Singing (In Polish, sometimes English). All things Internet & Linux.
I can improvise workshops on technical issues. Generally - whatever is needed.

Other information for guests:

We are developing our hospitality side now, so the information may be incomplete until we elaborate it properly. Please ask in advance.

Public transport:

Get by bus from Thessaloniki IKEA city bus terminal #72 or 76. Half an hour trip. Ask for details.

House Rules:
No drugs.

"Restrictions" above means that I do not smoke nor intoxicate (otherwise than coffee & some alcohol sometimes). But I actually have no problem with civilised use of any substance, legal or not. By others.

Family and close friends

Login to display family and close friends.

Latest comments

Login to display the latest comments.