Picture of LorenzoBerardi

LorenzoBerardi

About me

I started hosting people and being hosted through Couchsurfing back in 2008. Since then I had the chance to be a host in Italy, the Netherlands, the UK and Poland as well as to be a guest in Sweden, the Netherlands, the UK, and Norway.

You can find many references about me by looking into my Couchsurfing profile:
https://www.couchsurfing.com/users/291498
I'm still a Couchsurfing member but don't like what CS became over the last years, thus my presence here on more friendly BeWelcome.

I hail from Bologna, Italy, but lived for some time in Norway (Oslo), then in the Netherlands (Utrecht) and I spent around four years in the UK (Oxford and around).
I moved to Warsaw with my girlfriend in September 2014 and I'm currently embarking in the tough challenge of learning some Polish. I have a boring Monday to Friday job, but my real passion is freelance journalsm, English teaching (I got a TESOL certificate) and translation from English to Italian or viceversa.

In my spare time I work on features and reportages, walk or cycle around Warsaw, buy, read and review books, write goofy poetry and clumsy short stories, play chess and wish to play basketball in a proper playground.

Spoken languages

  • Italian Mother Tongue
  • English Expert
  • Norwegian Bokmål Intermediate
  • French Beginner
  • Polish Beginner
  • Dutch Can only say Welcome!

My interests

Hobbies:

Reading, writing poetry, short stories, unfinished novels, cycling, playing basketball, playing chess, learning more about Warsaw history.

Books:

Too many to mention. Look here, if you're interested:
https://www.goodreads.com/user/show/183865-lorenzo-berardi

Music:

Again, too much stuff to be written down here. It's a long time I don't use Lastfm, but you could get an idea of what I like here:
http://www.last.fm/user/LerriBi

Films:

Not an expert on this, but I'm currently into Polish movies and still rate 'Citizen Kane' and 'Once Upon a Time in America' as my two favorite movies overall.

Travel experiences

Past trips:

Australia, Austria, Croatia, Denmark, England, Estonia, Belgium, France, Germany, Greece, Holland, Hungary, Iceland, Italy, Norway, Poland, Portugal, San Marino (ahaha), Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Wales.

Planned trips:

Thailand, Vietnam.

Accommodation

never ask
Max number of guests:
2
Maximum length of stay:

3 days

I Live With:

My girlfriend, Paulina. She's an English teacher (and a proud owner of a CELTA certificate) and, as such, sometimes travels the world to teach kids and teenagers. I'm a lazybones, but one day I'd like to do the same!

Please bring:

Italian Aperol, Dutch stroopwafels and hagelslag or whatever local delicacy you feel like.

I can offer my guests:

A private guest room furnished with an IKEA convertible sofa (single or double), a desk, a chair, shelves, drawers, etc.
We have spare duvets, pillows, towels and a hairdryer for your comfortable stay. You can use our washing machine and drying rack, if you need them.

I'm very much into Warsaw history holding a thousand interesting anecdotes in store to share with you. I also have a good sense of orientation, so if you need a guide or a chaperone in town, I'd be glad to take you out and about,

I can offer my hosts:

Sorry, but I'm not planning to travel as a guest anytime soon (too old for doing that, I'm afraid ;o)

Other information for guests:

Praga Polnoc (North) is a picturesque district. You may hear that it's a tough neighborhood and it certainly is less shiny (and more authentic) than other parts of Warsaw. Upon almost one year living here, I can say that this area is a perfectly safe place to stay, even though someone may say it has a bad reputation. Don't panic. Just be citywise and you will be ok.

Public transport:

We live in the Praga Polnoc district on the eastern bank of the Vistula. If you're a keen walker it only takes 20-25 minutes to be in Warsaw's Old Town (Stare Miasto) on your own legs.

'Stadion Narodowy' and 'Dworzec Wilenski' Metro 2 stations are both 5 minutes walking from our place.

Plenty of buses and trams stopping just around the corner will take you to the city centre in 15-20 minutes.

Warsaw East Railway Station (Wschodnia) is a 10 minutes walk from our place. This is where fast trains to/from Warsaw Chopin and Warsaw Modlin airports stop. From Wschodnia it takes around 30 minutes to reach Chopin and 45 minutes to reach Modlin.

House Rules:
No smoking, No drugs.

We cannot provide you with a set of spare keys and - alas! - no pets admitted. We'd like to have a cat but plenty of wallpaper at home forced us to do otherwise.