Picture of JoshGoldsmith

JoshGoldsmith

About me

Born and bred in the states, I have now lived in Europe for most of the last five years. I'm lucky enough to have traveled around a bit, and love Barcelona -- where I lived for two years -- Venice -- where I live during holidays and school breaks-- and Geneva, where I live during the semester!

I love languages and linguistics (be forewarned--if you get me started talking about languages, it's hard to get me to stop!), traveling, foreign countries and cultures, music, teaching, education, education reform, reading, web 2.0 (but not Facebook), cooking, inventing new recipes, nature, hiking through nature, relaxing in nature, and meeting new people from all over the world.

I have had a ton of wonderful experiences as an active Couchsurfer for years. You can check out my profile over there at http://www.couchsurfing.org/people/josh.goldsmith/

Spoken languages

  • English Mother Tongue
  • Spanish Expert
  • Catalan Expert
  • French Fluent
  • Italian Fluent
  • German Intermediate
  • Hebrew Intermediate
  • Polish Beginner

My interests

Hobbies:

Languages, people, learning, students, cooking, music, juggling, language exchanges, translating, interpreting, reading, dancing...

People who are multifaceted and have interesting stories to share, people who are outgoing and open-minded, people who are smart, funky, diverse and passionate!

Books:

Some current favorite books: The Remains of the Day, Fear and Trembling (Nothomb), Seta, Crònica de la Independència, the Bio of a Space Tyrant series, the Ender's Game series, The Eye of the World Series, cookbooks, and more. I love good literature, and have a secret weak spot for fantasy and science fiction novels.

Favorite authors: Kazuo Ishiguro, Vladimir Nabokov, Alessandro Baricco, Dan Savage, Mark Twain, Dickens, Orson Scott Card, Piers Anthony, Robert Jordan

Music:

Jazz, Swing, Pop, Musicals, A cappella, German Lieder ...Rufus Wainwright, Anthony and the Johnsons, Nassoons, Beethoven, anything I can sing.

Films:

Lots of things, as long as they're in the original language!

Organisations I belong to:

Also a member of CouchSurfing for many years - see my profile and references there at http://www.couchsurfing.org/people/josh.goldsmith/

Travel experiences

Past trips:

Bermuda, Egypt, France, Germany, Hungary, Jordan, Mexico, Scotland, Switzerland, United Kingdom, Israel, Spain, Catalonia, Italy

Planned trips:

Geneva in April 2013. Maybe the Canary Islands soon?

Belongs to the following groups

Group

Professional translators and conference

I'm a professional translator and aspiring conference interpreter!

Accommodation

never ask
Max number of guests:
2
Maximum length of stay:

usually 2-3 nights. Weekends tend to be best, since I work from the same room you sleep in.

I Live With:

my partner

Please bring:

a fun story to share!

I can offer my guests:
A guided tour, A dinner.

a comfortable couch, linens, and a towel
cooking together
walks around town
books about Venice + maps
great chats
inspiration

I can offer my hosts:

great stories
a home-cooked meal
wonderful conversations
language exchange
a ready smile

Other information for guests:

PLEASE NOTE: I will be away all summer and am not available to host anyone in July or August, and in September I'm moving to Geneva to do a Master's degree, so I'm afraid, for the moment, that I'm not available to host anyone right now.

Public transport:

5 minutes from the Rialto vaporetto stop and 10 minutes from San Marco stops.

House Rules:
No smoking, No drugs.

Family and close friends

Login to display family and close friends.

Latest comments

Login to display the latest comments.