Picture of Helix

Helix

About me

Hei, my name is Helix. I'm 29 years old and from germany. I lived and grew up at the north sea coast, I love the ocean and the Wadden sea, and I want to travel Scotland this summer.

I'm genderqueer (neither male nor female) and trans and I use they pronouns. Please respect that.

Spoken languages

  • German Mother Tongue
  • English Fluent

My interests

Hobbies:

I bind miniature books, I sculpt with clay and I'm slowly learning how to crochet. I also love hiking, kayaking, inline and ice skating. I want to improve my sewing skills, and learn to make shoes and sandals with old car tyre soles. I'm into d.i.y. and dream of my own compost and permaculture garden.
I know quite a bit about herbs and plants, and I sometimes forage wild plants and fruits. I want to learn how to safely identify fungi, too.

Books:

Harry Potter by Joanne K Rowling, Malus Wolf von Ruth Craig, The Mothercage by Maire Ni Bhradaig, Edgar Allan Poe' works, Momo und die Unendliche Geschichte von Michael Ende, Das Fräulein von Scuderi von ETA Hoffmann, and I read a lot of zines. I've also written zines and short stories.

Music:

The Cure, Placebo, Cinema Strange, Malaria!, Girolamos Walk, Bauhaus, Blickwinkel, Guts Pie Earshot, weird drum'n'bass, Buffy Saint-Marie, Chopin, random songs that I come across online, and most of the time I love what my friends are passionate about.
I want to learn how to play the musical saw. I have one, but sadly it's in storage somewhere.

Films:

I'm an incorrigible Trekkie. The Voyage Home is my favourite Star Trek movie, and I love ST: Voyager and Deep Space 9. Also: The Abyss, The Labyrinth, Pacific Rim, nature and animal documentaries, Steven Universe, Avatar: the Last Airbender.

Travel experiences

Past trips:

As a kid, I've always been camping and kayaking around northern germany, and the Wadden sea is feels like home. I've been skiing in Sweden and Bavaria, and as an adult, I've been to London, Oxford and Wales (where I helped build a cob home), couchsurfing, and I've also been in India for four months with my siblings and two friends. Lately, I left my flat and explored Werbellinsee, Arneburg at the Elbe, and now I'm back in Hamburg.

Planned trips:

I want to visit Leeds, take pictures of all the gargoyles in Oxford, and go to Scotland.
Next year, if I have enough money, I want to take the ferry to the Faroe islands and then Iceland.

Belongs to the following groups

Group

♣ Ecology, Ecologic Trips,

I strive to live as ecologically responsible as possible. I go by train or ferry wherever possible rather than by plane, and I prefer hiking and bicycles to cars. I also forage for wild plants and herbs.

Group

anarchafeminists

I'm anarchafeminist and I'd love to join. I'm really thrilled that this group exists! hell yeah

Show all groups

Accommodation

never ask
Max number of guests:
1
Maximum length of stay:

I'm currently unable to accomodate guests, as I am travelling myself.

I can offer my hosts:

I can cook, bake, make pizza and/or bread. I used to be vegan and vegetarian for many years, so if you're veggie or if you have any allergies or other dietary needs, I'll of course respect that and cook accordingly.

I'm easygoing, I clean up after myself and will respect your space. I don't smoke or drink, and though I have no pets myself, I'm happy to share space with yours, no matter if you have dogs, cats, snakes or scorpions.

If you're interested and have a few hours' worth of time, I can teach you how to bind a book. I'd love to! It's a great skill and a passion of mine. Miniature ones can be worn as necklaces and bigger ones make great diaries, guest books, etc.