Picture of FergusRossFerrier

FergusRossFerrier

Profile Translations

EnglishDeutsch

About me

Talkative, sometimes controversial, keen for adventure. I'm gay. Most people don't notice, and hopefully even if they did it wouldn't matter. I go by the name of Rufus, Fergus is just what it says on my passport.

Personal philosophy: try not to rush, accept things as they are, appreciate the simple things. Search for adventure but be ready to let it find you too. If you stop learning you stop living.

I sell things on amazon and work in a bar, and the rest of the time I'm trying to experience and learn more from this fascinating world.

Spoken languages

  • English Mother Tongue
  • German Fluent
  • Spanish Intermediate
  • Esperanto Intermediate
  • French Beginner
  • Japanese Can only say Welcome!

My interests

Hobbies:

Experiences wide and far, reading, piano, meditation, singing, cycling, rowing, computing, open-source-y things, relaxed bars, electronic music, intelligent discussion

Books:

Walden, Siddharta, Douglas Adams, Orson Scott Card, psychology, Stephen Fry!

Music:

Electronic (electro-pop, synth-pop, techno, electro-indie), Prog rock, Female singer/songwriters

Films:

Groundhog Day, Brazil, Monty Python's Meaning of Life

Organisations I belong to:

BeWelcome, Couchsurfing

Travel experiences

Past trips:

2008: did the clichéd Interrail thing with 3 friends from school across Europe. We tried to see as many capital cities in 30 days as we could, but that inevitably meant that we only spent 1 or 2 days in each country, and lots of time travelling. I got from Paris all the way to Istanbul, Turkey (including a nice stay in Bulgaria to visit a friend of mine whose family are from there) and then back West to Valencia, Spain.

2009: Just a quick visit to Berlin to see a pal of mine who was studying there for a year.

2010-2011: Spent a year in Berlin. Also visited Hamburg, München (Munich) and Szczecin (Stettin, Poland) very briefly. A short trip to Pisa / Florence.

Planned trips:

North America - there are lots of places I've been recommended but I don't have concrete plans. The things that stand out in my head at the moment are Vancouver, Chicago, Portland, Washington DC, San Francisco. Basically I'm trying to recreate the feeling of Zen and the Art of Motorcycle Maintenance and Jack Keroac's On The Road.

And then onto Mexico, Central and Southern America to develop my Spanish, maybe some Portuguese.

Japan! A small island that for long periods in its history has been really ... well ... insular, and has also had periods of rapid accumulation of other cultures. Love the language, and want to experience this totally different culture.

Belongs to the following groups

Group

Berlin

I give tours of the historic centre of Berlin. And I live here.

Group

queer

Loving the picture. Oh, and the bit about having a penis and liking other guys. Yeah.

Accommodation

never ask
Max number of guests:
2
Maximum length of stay:

2 nights is a good place to start. If we get on well, and I don't have too much stuff going on, we could extend that.

I Live With:

Flatmate Tom.

Please bring:

Sleeping bag.

I can offer my guests:

We have 2 sleeping bags and 2 couches.

Other information for guests:

To any gay BWers: please don't expect more than a couch, if you know what I mean. ;)

Public transport:

Just need to hop on a train.

Latest comments

Login to display the latest comments.