Picture of DaphneM

DaphneM Daphne meijer

About me

I've sailed a lot with all kind of Dutch ships. But over time I travelled more often with backpack and later the bike. Cycling is for me the most ideal way to travel around and to enjoy beautiful nature and to meet other people. Always curious what kind of adventure is waiting behind every hill and around every corner. Beside cycling through the world is making art my passion. I always work on new visual images where ever i'm.

Spoken languages

  • Dutch Mother Tongue
  • English Fluent
  • Spanish Beginner

My interests

Hobbies:

nature / long distance travel by bicycle / vipassana meditation / basic life-style / meeting new people and old friends / vegetarian cooking / ice skating / hiking / kayak paddling / cross country skiing / listening to music / talking to strangers / exploring / taking photos / painting / art / working in the yard / sharing thoughts or just chilling out.

Books:

My Africa, Kuki Gallmann / The alchemist, Paulo Coelho. Encyclopaedia of Ball Junggling, Charlie Dancey's / ..

Music:

Classical music Mozart, Bach, Vivaldi and Schubert. All kinds of folk music. Jazz. Blues.

Films:

As it is in heaven, Kay Pollak / La vita e Bella, Roberto Benigni / Fight Club, David Fincher / Spring Summer Fall Winter and Spring, Kim Ki-duk / Into the Wild, Sean Penn / Saving Private Ryan and the Green Mile / The last Samurai, Edward Zwick.

Organisations I belong to:

none at the moment..

Travel experiences

Past trips:

Andorra, Australia, Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Canada, Denmark, England, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Hungary, Italy, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Netherlands, Netherlands Antilles, Norway, Romania, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Turkey, Vatican.

Planned trips:

Scotland, Norway, Alaska, Northern Canada,

Belongs to the following groups

Group

alternative ways of living, consuming...

always intersted in alternatives ways of living and consuming..

Group

Camping & outdoor

how i live most of my time

Group

Cyclists

that's what i do..

Show all groups

Accommodation

never ask
Max number of guests:
3
Maximum length of stay:

two to 3 days suits me best, but i might be up for interesting ideas.

Please bring:

what you think you need, but i probably also have it ;-)

I can offer my guests:
A guided tour, A dinner.
I can offer my hosts:

We can learn from each other while we`re having a good time.

"Thousands of candles can be lit from a single candle,
and the life of the candle will not be shortened.
Happiness never decreases by being shared."
-Sutta Nipata

House Rules:
No smoking, No drugs.