Picture of isabelvillena

isabelvillena isabel villena anytime

About me

Retired professional advice-giver; ex homebirth lay midwife, proud-to-bursting mother of 2 wonderful grown-up children. Now a grandmother too! Amateur adventurer. Passionate life gourmet. Still striving to make the world a better place after 40+ years...

Spoken languages

  • Spanish Mother Tongue
  • Catalan Mother Tongue
  • English Expert
  • French Intermediate

My interests

Hobbies:

Lots! Responsible travelling, every culture in the world and its people, mother nature, hiking (El Camino de Santiago every year, my addiction!), photography (bad but eager) music, singing (I belong to an amateur choir), folk dancing,cinema, web surfing (I'm really curious, nothing in the universe is uninteresting to me!), environmental issues, human rights, social justice, education, the magic of language and communication,...

Books:

Very eclectic tastes! Love reading non-fiction,fiction that challenges both my mind and my heart, and quality comic books: Art Spiegelman, Joe Sacco, Allan Moore, and many others( and even not-so-quality ones: X-men freak!) Devout worshipper of Terry Pratchett's Discworld novels. And I loved George R. Martin from his Wildcards books, way before the masses discovered him in Game of Thrones.

Music:

Very eclectic tastes too! I adore folk, traditional and world music, especially Celtic: frequent attendant to the Lorient Interceltic Festival, what an experience! But I also love rock, pop, electronic musics, classics like the Boss and newer ones the National, the Killers, Bjorg...

Films:

Very eclectic tastes again! From Fantasy & SCiFi ("The Lord of the Rings" and Terminator 1- not the rest!) to Monty Phyton and obscure arty films.

Organisations I belong to:

Greenpeace, WWF, Amnesty International, Oxfam Intermon, FVF/Rural Development Trust (Anantapur, India)

Travel experiences

Past trips:

Algeria, Australia, Belgium, Bulgaria, Canada, Ecuador, Egypt, England, France, Germany, Greece, Ireland, Italy, Luxembourg, Morocco, Netherlands, Russia, Rwanda, Scotland, Slovenia, Spain, Sri Lanka, Sweden, Switzerland, Tunisia, USA, Wales.

Planned trips:

Montenegro, Croatia, Tanzania, India, Iceland, Norway, Hungary...

Belongs to the following groups

Group

50+ group

I want to meet others BWers and share views and experiences.

Accommodation

yes, i can host
Max number of guests:
4
Maximum length of stay:

4 nights max. might be best, I think.

Please bring:

Respect, kindness and an interest in my country and me; freeloaders not welcome. Copy and paste requests with no reasons why they wish to meet me will not even be answered; sorry, my time and energy are limited.

I can offer my guests:
A guided tour.

Two spare rooms. Tips on Barcelona, Catalonia, Spain... Nice conversation over tapas. If not busy,I can show them around.

I can offer my hosts:

A lot of interest in them and their places; enthusiastic conversation; everything I have learned in my very full 60 years.

Public transport:

There are several buses to move around Manresa, though one can pretty much wak everywhere. Barcelona is about 80 minutes away by train or Bus, and espectacular Montserrat about 20.

House Rules:
No smoking, No drugs.

No problem with enjoying a couple of drinks, but please be drunk somewhere else.

Latest comments

Login to display the latest comments.