Picture of ignacioduran

ignacioduran

About me

I've been involved in language teaching and translation (Spanish, English, French, German, Japanese) for more than 30 years. I am currently doing translations by email or language lessons via Skype as I bike around the world!

Drop me a line if you need my services or know of someone who might!

From November of 2011 until the summer of 2016 I lived and worked as a Nomadic Translator and Language Teacher cycling about 24.000 km through some 23 countries: Spain, Morocco, most of Western Europe and some of Eastern Europe, Turkey, and as far as Iran. Then Nov. 2016 to April 2017 I did about 4000 km through Vietnam, Laos, Cambodia, Thailand and Malaysia, and another 2.000 km through northern Japan. Now I'm in Berlin, soon to be cycling around Malaga/Morocco.

Sometimes I stop for the winter or other extended periods in some places, e.g., three month stays in Berlin, Tunis, Antalya, or Poland.

Check out my bike journals in http://www.crazyguyonabike.com/nacho59

My profile in couchsurfing is: http://www.couchsurfing.org/people/ignacioduran/

ABOUT HOSTING ME:

I'm very simple and do not need or expect to do regular "tourism" or be shown around. Usually I'm just happy to share a meal and conversation with my hosts, work on my online stuff, rest, eat, maybe do some laundry. I have a camping mat, sleeping bag, my own sheets, etc., so I only need some space on the floor to sleep; I like it that way!

Spoken languages

  • English Mother Tongue
  • Spanish Mother Tongue
  • French Expert
  • German Expert
  • Japanese Expert
  • Italian Intermediate
  • Korean Beginner
  • Arabic Beginner
  • Russian Beginner
  • Polish Beginner
  • Chinese (Simplified) Beginner

My interests

Hobbies:

Languages, travel, photography, philosophy, anthropology, cycling.

Organisations I belong to:

Crazyguyonabike, Couchsurfing, WarmShowers.

Travel experiences

Past trips:

I never lived longer than 2 years continuously in the same place until I was 30 yrs. old in Japan. I've lived and worked in Japan, Germany, France, the USA, and Spain, but I've also stayed and travelled for long periods in Russia (10 weeks), South Korea (9 + 6 months), China (3 months), Puerto Rico (3 months), Morocco (3 months), and Tunis (3 months), Istanbul (3 months), Poland (3 months). Otherwise I've travelled mostly in Europe, and a bit in Mexico, Peru, Cuba, Turkey, Iran, Vietnam, Laos, Cambodia, Thailand, Malaysia, and again Japan.

In November 2011 I embarked upon a round the world trip by bicycle, working along the way as a Nomadic Translator and Language Teacher. I went through Morocco, through Spain a couple of times, France, Germany, Switzerland, Italy (almost 6 months), Slovenia, Croatia, Austria, the Czech Republic, Poland, Slovakia, Hungary, Serbia, Bosnia, Montenegro, Albania, Greece, Turkey, Iran. In 2017 I did South East Asia and northern Japan by bicycle, too.

Planned trips:

Beginning in August of 2017 I'll be in Berkeley, California, staying put for a while, preparing my next long trip.

I hope to find more clients for translations and teaching along the way or online.

Belongs to the following groups

Group

Berlin

I'm here now and maybe want to meet people, maybe not. Let's find out! Also, I'm a Berliner, ha ha.

Group

Brainstorm

I have a brain, there's a storm coming!

Group

Chicago

Chicago is my base in the USA. Lived there about 4 years between 2006-2011.

Show all groups

Accommodation

never ask
Max number of guests:
2
Maximum length of stay:

Sorry, I'm travelling at the moment, but if you can join me where I happen to be, we can camp together, or maybe look to be hosted by other BW members.

Please bring:

If possible, bring your own sheets and/or sleeping bag, and a towel.

House Rules:
No smoking.

Family and close friends

Login to display family and close friends.

Latest comments

Login to display the latest comments.