Picture of hamaryns

hamaryns Hendrik Maryns anytime

Profile Translations

EnglishNederlands

About me

I search for fulfillment in life and could write a whole bunch of esoteric crap here which would scare you, but I’m actually pretty down-to-earth.
Come and find out…

I moved here from Couchsurfing since I don’t like the way they handled the transition to a corporation. Not because of the fact THAT they are a corporation. I have nothing against corporations, as long as they act ethically, which CS didn’t.

Spoken languages

  • Dutch Mother Tongue
  • German Expert
  • English Fluent
  • French Fluent
  • Russian Beginner

My interests

Hobbies:

Giving Dutch lessons in prison, ultimate frisbee, modern dance & contact improvisation

Books:

De tocht naar morgen (Doris Heinemann), Good Omens (Terry Pratchett and Neil Gaiman), other work by Terry Pratchett, Sandman (Neil Gaiman), LOTR of course.

Music:

Tool, Welle:Erdball, Eels, Lamb, Aphex Twin, …

Organisations I belong to:

Friends of the Earth, League of Optimists, Anthroposophical Society, País, …

Belongs to the following groups

Group

"FAQs update" task force

I don’t want to write, but comment and suggest improvements.

Show all groups

Accommodation

wheelchairyes, i can host
Max number of guests:
6
I Live With:

My wife and daughter.

Please bring:

It would be nice if you could bring blankets or a sleeping bag, but not necessary.

People often feel obliged to bring a gift. You really don’t have to. If you insist, consider the following: I do not drink alcohol and do not eat (anything containing) sugar. So no wine or chocolate.

I can offer my guests:
A dinner.

A guest room with own key and bathroom in a cohousing project.
The guest room is shared with neighbors and we decided that family and friends have priority over guests via BW. Thus, *a confirmation is always conditional until one week before the arrival date*. Until then, a neighbor can claim the room for family or friends.

No cooking facility apart from a water boiler, but if you want to cook, you can use our kitchen.

Internet and laundry machine available, ask for it.

I can offer my hosts:

Vegetarian cooking, computer help, …

Other information for guests:

We also share a garden in which you can sit, with a fireplace. You can smoke in the garden.

Public transport:

From Haarlem central station take a bus to Belgiëlaan (75) or Europaweg E/G (300) or Europaweg/Schipholweg (3,277), follow the Europaweg, at the traffic lights the Belgiëlaan goes to the right, first left is Drielandenhoek. The entrance is on the corner of Frankrijklaan and Duitslandlaan.
Don’t trust Google Maps.

From Schiphol: take bus 300 to Europaweg, then see above.

From Amsterdam Zuid (south station): take bus 176 to Europaweg/Schipholweg, then cross the road and follow Europaweg, see above.
From Amsterdam Bijlmer: take bus 175 and see 176.

House Rules:
No smoking.

Latest comments

Login to display the latest comments.