Picture of AndreCS

AndreCS Andre Sabatini anytime

About me

My girlfriend and I just moved to Knoxville, TN in August 2016. She's gearing up to pursue her doctorate of Audiology at the University of Tennessee, while I'm working and getting an idea about grad school myself.

According to some people in my references, I'm a sympathetic, serious, relaxed, down to earth, adaptive, and fairly educated person. I'm a pretty firm believer in karma, and I do my best to give out positive, friendly and generous vibes with hopes that I can count on some good luck in return.

So far so good.

I have a BA in Sociology from New York State's public honors college. I'm a big fan of indie rock/folk and love checking out live music. I play a little guitar and drums myself but I'm really more of a hobbyist than an aspiring musician. Music is definitely therapy to me--it's an emotional release to be able to play and sing (usually by myself).

I'm an independent person and a hard worker, and I love those traits in others. I'm drawn to funny, charismatic, opinionated, intelligent, socially graceful, culturally extrospective and introspective people. I really like people who are able to denaturalize their social world and its norms, makes for great conversation. I enjoy the company of both extroverts and introverts. I strive to make people comfortable, both socially and in my home. I, of course, love to travel and simply experience life.

Spoken languages

  • English Mother Tongue
  • Latin Beginner
  • American Sign Language Beginner
  • Polish Can only say Welcome!

My interests

Hobbies:

Playing music--guitar, percussion, ukulele, singing. Listening to music--alternative/indie. Travel, hiking, outdoors, discussions of society, culture, politics, etc. I love good beer.

Books:

Anything interesting, informative, sociological, scientific, cultural... Not a big reader, but I've been known to read what is strongly suggested to me. The last few books I read for pleasure were The Scientific Method and God by Carl Sagan, The Botany of Desire by Michael Pollan, and I'm currently reading On the Road by Jack Kerouac and Breakfast of Champions by Kurt Vonnegut.

Music:

Ween, Dan Croll, Cardinal Sons, Whitney, Le Swish, Saintseneca, Lemaitre, Reptar, Alvvays, Peter Bjorn & John, Born Ruffians, Phoenix, The Zolas, Alabama Shakes, Mother Mother, The Spinto Band, Arctic Monkeys, Bright Eyes, Portugal. The Man, CAKE, The Decemberists, Passion Pit, The Fratellis, Generationals, Young the Giant, The Hush Sound, The Shins, Jukebox the Ghost, Modest Mouse, OK Go, The Raconteurs, Rilo Kiley, Rubblebucket, Saint Motel, Two Door Cinema Club, Vampire Weekend, alt-J, anything by Jenny Lewis, Death Cab for Cutie, Sublime, the list goes on...

Films:

Wes Anderson, Tarantino, Coen Brothers, Paul Thomas Anderson, Mike Judge, Judd Apatow, documentaries, and all sorts of independent and/or animated film. I particularly love animated sitcoms, favorites being Futurama, Rick & Morty, of course South Park, King of the Hill, and many more. Been really digging HBO lately, John Oliver, Westworld, GOT and others.

Organisations I belong to:

BeWelcome, Couchsurfing, 89.3 FM WGSU College Radio (DJ), Red Jacket Orchards, Geneva Family YMCA, SUNY Geneseo Alumni, Strayer University

Travel experiences

Past trips:

(Europe)
PO: Krakow, Warsaw, Auschwitz, Wieliczka, Więckowice. Prague, CZ. Berlin, DE. Amsterdam, NL. Brussels, BE. IT: Turin, Padua, Venice, Rome.

(US)
Las Vegas NV, New York City, Buffalo, Rochester, Syracuse, Speculator, Ithaca, Albany, and Saratoga Springs NY, Boston MA, Charlemonte MA (Berkshire Mountains), Colebrook CT, Atlantic City NJ, Baltimore MD, Philadelphia PA, Cleveland OH, Minneapolis MN, Myrtle Beach SC, Savannah and Tybee Island GA, Ft. Lauderdale FL, Nashville and Knoxville TN.

(Canada)
Perth, ON and Smiths Falls, ON

Planned trips:

I'd like to visit Toronto, Johannesburg, Tokyo, Quebec City, Chicago, Belgrade, Budapest, Florence, Tel Aviv, Istanbul, Los Angeles and Athens (just to name a few). For the most part, I'd visit anyplace. Since moving to Tennessee we're hoping to visit Atlanta and Savannah GA, Charleston and Colombia SC, Raleigh and Asheville NC, Bristol, Chattanooga and Memphis TN, Lexington KY, and any other nearby metro areas.

Accommodation

yes, i can host
Max number of guests:
5
Maximum length of stay:

It all depends on your situation and mine.

I Live With:

My girlfriend, Joanna.

Please bring:

Whatever you need to be comfortable--I'm happy to accommodate any way I can.

I can offer my guests:
A guided tour, A dinner.

Food, music, a comfy place to sleep, entertainment, a tour of my hometown and nearby places, or directions elsewhere. Something else you need? Ask!

I can offer my hosts:

Given a guitar, I can offer some music, maybe even some lessons. I'm not the greatest cook but I can make edible food. I can share my perspective and experiences.

Other information for guests:

Be Welcome to my many couches, balcony, electricity, water, food, music, movies, and be especially welcome to my new home of Knoxville!

Public transport:

Regional buses:

http://www.katbus.com/

National buses:

http://locations.greyhound.com/bus-stations/us/tennessee/knoxville/bus-station-400433

By train:

No Amtrak in Knoxville, but there are locations in Nashville TN, Toccoa GA, Charlotte NC, and other surrounding areas. https://www.amtrak.com/south-train-bus-stations

House Rules:

Simply respect me and my home--I'm pretty relaxed and lenient, do what you want (except no CIGARETTE smoking inside!). Enjoy my internet, electricity, hot water, eat my food, drink my beer!

Family and close friends

Login to display family and close friends.